Lady Dior Bag Guide: Sizes, Prices & What Fits

Choose the Small for the broadest day-to-evening use, the Medium for a fuller daily load, or the Large when a 13-inch laptop is essential. Size, empty weight, and material matter more than the name alone.

Last updated: July 20, 2026

Buy the Small Lady Dior if you want one structured Dior bag that can move from daytime to dinner. Choose the Medium for a fuller daily load, the Mini for light occasion carry, or the Large only when laptop capacity matters.

The Lady Dior is an upright top-handle bag with Cannage quilting, suspended D.I.O.R. charms, and a removable shoulder or crossbody strap on most current sizes. Its rigid shape looks polished and protects the silhouette, but access slows down when the opening is tightly packed.

Lady Dior at a Glance

Micro
Dimensions
12 x 11 x 5 cm / 4.75 x 4.5 x 2 in
Empty weight
300 g
What Dior says fits
Card holder and lipstick
Best use
Very light style-first carry
Mini
Dimensions
17 x 15 x 7 cm / 6.5 x 6 x 3 in
Empty weight
700 g
What Dior says fits
Phone, card holder, lipstick
Best use
Dinner and light occasions
Small
Dimensions
20 x 18 x 8 cm / 8 x 7 x 3 in
Empty weight
790-800 g
What Dior says fits
Wallet, phone, sunglasses
Best use
Day-to-evening
Medium
Dimensions
24 x 21 x 12 cm / 9.5 x 8.5 x 4.5 in
Empty weight
1 kg
What Dior says fits
Wallet, phone, card holder, sunglasses
Best use
Full daily essentials
Large
Dimensions
32 x 25 x 12 cm / 12.5 x 10 x 4.5 in
Empty weight
1.2 kg
What Dior says fits
13-inch laptop and daily essentials
Best use
Work and travel

History and Signature Details

The bag debuted in 1995 as the Chouchou. After Diana, Princess of Wales received one during a visit to Paris and carried it publicly, the model became the Lady Dior. Its lasting identifiers are the boxy body, Cannage stitching, paired top handles, and letter charms.

The interior changes with size. Micro has one compartment; Mini adds a zip pocket; Small has a zip pocket and a slip pocket; Medium and Large have a zip pocket and a larger slip pocket. Closure details vary across current core versions, so inspect the opening on the exact bag you are considering.

Sizes, Straps and Carry Formats

Micro weighs only 300 g, but Dior lists space for a card holder and lipstick rather than a phone. Mini adds a detachable chain and enough room for a phone, card holder, and lipstick. It works best when the contents stay flat and sparse.

Small has an adjustable removable leather strap and is the strongest compromise: it holds a wallet, phone, and sunglasses without the Medium's 1 kg starting weight. The name is not uniform worldwide. U.S. and UK pages use Small Lady Dior Bag with Strap, while France still lists a My ABCDior Small with a wider customizable strap.

Medium is the familiar everyday classic, with more depth and a larger slip pocket. Large keeps the same 12 cm depth but grows to 32 cm wide; it is the only current core size Dior says will hold a 13-inch laptop. At 1.2 kg empty, it becomes a substantial work bag once loaded.

Lady Dior Prices in July 2026

Verified U.S. classic-lambskin prices in July 2026 ran from $4,000 for Micro to $6,700 for Medium. Dior's buying flow often directs customers to a client advisor, appointment, or boutique stock check, so color and seasonal availability vary.

Micro
U.S. price
$4,000
Supporting market price
£3,050 UK
Notes
Classic lambskin
Mini
U.S. price
$5,500
Supporting market price
£4,200 UK; €4,700 France
Notes
Classic lambskin
Small
U.S. price
$6,400
Supporting market price
£5,200 UK
Notes
Small Bag with Strap; names vary by market
Medium
U.S. price
$6,700
Supporting market price
£5,300 UK; €5,900 Italy
Notes
Classic lambskin
Large
U.S. price
Not confirmed
Supporting market price
€6,200 Italy
Notes
Current internationally; U.S. price omitted

Special finishes need their own price comparison. A French embroidered Mini was €8,200 against €4,700 for a lambskin Mini, so the classic price ladder should not be applied to beading, embroidery, artist editions, or other decorative versions.

What Fits in Each Lady Dior Size

Capacity rises quickly from Mini to Medium, but the structured opening matters as much as the exterior dimensions. A tightly packed bag is harder to reach into, and bulky cases can block access even when the items technically fit.

Micro
Reliable capacity
Card holder and lipstick
Practical limit
Do not count on phone space
Mini
Reliable capacity
Phone, card holder, lipstick
Practical limit
Best with slim essentials; avoid a bulky wallet
Small
Reliable capacity
Wallet, phone, sunglasses
Practical limit
Good compact daily load, not tote capacity
Medium
Reliable capacity
Wallet, phone, card holder, sunglasses
Practical limit
Room for keys and a small pouch, with added weight
Large
Reliable capacity
13-inch laptop, wallet, phone, card holder, sunglasses
Practical limit
Laptop and daily carry make the 1.2 kg bag much heavier

Exact phone models and case thicknesses change, so the safest device claim is Dior's generic one: Mini through Large fit a phone, while Micro is not listed as a phone bag. If a large phone in a thick case is essential, compare its measurements with the opening and the seller's interior photos.

Weight, Comfort and Access

The rigid body stays neat in hand and most current core sizes can be worn on a strap, but this is not a light, soft shoulder bag. Small starts near 800 g, Medium at 1 kg, and Large at 1.2 kg before a wallet, sunglasses, laptop, or cosmetics go inside.

Mini is most comfortable as an occasion bag that can go crossbody. Small has the best balance for longer wear. Medium carries more but asks more from your shoulder, while Large makes sense when its laptop capacity earns the extra weight.

Access is the recurring trade-off. The structured top narrows as the bag fills, so retrieving a phone at a checkout counter takes more care than it does with an open tote or a soft zip bag. Keeping the opening lightly packed reduces both frustration and pressure marks.

Materials, Wear and Care

Lambskin gives the classic surface but shows scratches, dents, handle soil, and color transfer sooner than sturdier finishes. Grained calfskin is the practical choice when offered. Patent calfskin resists some light scratching, but pale colors may yellow or absorb dye. Suede, pearlized, metallic, satin, embroidered, and beaded versions need more protection from friction, moisture, and snags.

Top opening
What to inspect
Creases, nail scratches, dents near rings
Why it matters
Repeated opening and overpacking mark this area
Handles
What to inspect
Darkening, peeling, edge wear
Why it matters
Handles receive constant skin and hand-cream contact
Corners and base
What to inspect
Rubbing, color loss, press marks
Why it matters
The structured edges show contact wear clearly
Charms and hardware
What to inspect
Scratches, plating wear, missing pieces
Why it matters
The hanging letters strike one another during carry
Patent surfaces
What to inspect
Clouding, tackiness, yellowing, transfer
Why it matters
Patent has different aging risks from lambskin
Special finishes
What to inspect
Snags, missing beads, rubbed metallic color
Why it matters
Decorative surfaces can be difficult to restore

Store the bag upright and lightly stuffed in its dust bag. Do not force the opening or overfill the corners. Keep pale leather, suede, patent, satin, and embroidery away from dark denim and rough outerwear, and wipe handles and hardware gently after use with a clean dry cloth.

Buying a Preowned Lady Dior

Preowned shopping opens up older My ABCDior straps, discontinued colors, and special editions. It can also narrow the price gap: in a July 2026 snapshot of U.S. reseller listings we tracked, 96 available Lady Dior bags had a median asking price near $3,100, and the middle half was listed from roughly $2,680 to $3,960. These were seller asks, not completed sales.

Across U.S. reseller sales we tracked from July 19, 2025 through July 18, 2026, the model-level median sold price was about $3,020; the middle half fell between roughly $2,320 and $3,900. Listing titles did not state size consistently, so those figures cannot support a Mini-versus-Small or lambskin-versus-patent price comparison.

Seller condition labels in the July snapshot ranged from “Shows Wear” to “Excellent,” with “Good” the most common. Those labels are starting points, not independent grades. Request clear photos of the corners, base, handles, top opening, lining, strap, hardware, and every letter charm, then read the return policy before paying.

Lady Dior vs Lady D-Joy, Book Tote and Capucines

Choose by use rather than by prestige. Lady D-Joy keeps the Cannage and charms in a lower east-west body. The Dior Book Tote gives you open access and more room. Louis Vuitton's Capucines BB offers more interior organization and protected base studs.

Lady D-Joy
Best for
Lower-profile shoulder or crossbody wear
Advantage over Lady Dior
Flatter body and dual-strap setup
Trade-off
Less of the upright Lady Dior silhouette
Dior Book Tote
Best for
Commute, travel, open daytime carry
Advantage over Lady Dior
More capacity and faster access
Trade-off
More casual and less covered
Louis Vuitton Capucines BB
Best for
Organized dressy day carry
Advantage over Lady Dior
Compartmented interior and easier layout
Trade-off
Does not give you Dior's Cannage-and-charms identity

The broader Dior bags guide compares these families without repeating the Lady Dior size decision. Choose Lady Dior when its upright shape and formal finish are the point; choose an alternative when faster access, lower weight, or more open capacity matters more.

Final Verdict

Small is the safest first Lady Dior because it carries the core daily items without the Medium's full 1 kg starting weight. Mini is better for evenings and disciplined packing; Medium is better for a fuller day; Large earns its weight only when a 13-inch laptop or documents are part of the plan.

Choose lambskin for the classic finish if you accept visible wear, grained calfskin for easier ownership when available, and patent or decorated editions only after checking their material-specific aging risks. Preowned prices can sit far below current retail, but condition and exact configuration decide whether the savings are worthwhile.

Lady Dior Bag FAQ

How much is a Lady Dior bag in the U.S.?
As of July 20, 2026, classic lambskin prices were $4,000 for Micro, $5,500 for Mini, $6,400 for Small, and $6,700 for Medium. We could not verify a current U.S. Large price.
What sizes does the Lady Dior come in?
The current core ladder is Micro, Mini, Small, Medium, and Large. The Large was current on Dior's Italian and international sites in July 2026, while the U.S. assortment could vary.
Which Lady Dior size is best for everyday use?
Small is the broadest day-to-evening choice for a wallet, phone, and sunglasses. Medium is better if you carry more, but it weighs 1 kg before you add anything.
What fits in a Mini Lady Dior?
Dior lists a phone, card holder, and lipstick. The narrow structured opening becomes harder to use when the bag is packed tightly.
What fits in a Small Lady Dior?
Dior lists a wallet, phone, and sunglasses. This is the most useful compact size for many buyers who find the Mini too restrictive.
What fits in a Medium Lady Dior?
Dior lists a wallet, phone, card holder, and sunglasses. Owners also carry keys and a small pouch, but the 1 kg empty weight matters once it is loaded.
Does the Large Lady Dior fit a laptop?
Yes. Dior's Italian product page states that the Large fits a 13-inch laptop along with daily essentials.
Is My ABCDior still current?
The name varies by market. U.S. and UK pages used Small Lady Dior Bag with Strap in July 2026, while Dior France still listed a My ABCDior Small with a wide customizable strap.
Is Lady Dior lambskin too delicate?
Lambskin shows scratches, pressure marks, handle soil, and color transfer more readily than tougher finishes. It suits buyers willing to pack lightly and inspect the bag after wear.
Is patent Lady Dior easier to care for?
Patent can resist light scratches better than plain lambskin, but pale patent may yellow or pick up color transfer. Check for clouding, tackiness, discoloration, and transfer marks.
Should I buy a Lady Dior retail or preowned?
Retail is simplest for a current classic in a known color. Preowned offers discontinued strap configurations and special finishes, often below current retail, but condition and return terms deserve close review.
Does the Lady Dior hold its value?
Across U.S. reseller sales we tracked from July 19, 2025 through July 18, 2026, the model-level median sold price was about $3,020. Size was not stated consistently, so this cannot be used to compare Mini, Small, Medium, and Large.
Lady Dior or Lady D-Joy: which is better?
Choose Lady Dior for the upright boxy silhouette and fuller vertical capacity. Choose Lady D-Joy for a lower east-west shape and a carry setup built around both chain and leather straps.
Lady Dior or Dior Book Tote: which is better?
Choose Lady Dior for a structured, dressier handbag that can go crossbody. Choose Book Tote for open access and more daytime capacity.

Sources

Product dimensions, weights, carry hardware, capacity, and July 2026 prices come from current Dior product pages for the Micro, Mini, Small, and Medium, plus Dior Italy for the Large. Historical context was cross-checked against Christie’s and Sotheby’s collector overviews. Resale figures are from listings and sales tracked through July 2026.